Learning in the Open!

Okay, so last semester, for our Social Studies class, we were “learning in the open” or
“open learning”. When I first read this in the instructors notes I panicked! I didn’t want other students seeing my work!! I went through school being told looking at someone else’s work was the same as cheating. “You can’t look at someone else’s paper! Eyes on your own work!” WOW!! How things have changed!! I must say it took me a bit to get used to having my work in a space where others could see it, judge it, comment on it. I wasn’t comfortable with this method……. at FIRST!!! NOW! I WISH I had the opportunity to go back to that method!

Here’s the thing. With the learning in the open method, if you aren’t sure you are on the right path, or you need a little push to get going, this is a great way to do it. Having the ability to check in with classmates and see what they are creating, what they are thinking and even bouncing ideas off each other is great!! Having fellow students comment on your work or ask you questions and give you ideas simply helps to make you that much better. Sometimes, we get so stuck in our own heads we can’t get past it, and having another set of eyes look at things and give you another perspective is great. Don’t be afraid of this. I can tell you right now, I wish I had the opportunity to check in with my fellow students to see where they are at with their lesson plans and have them give me some feedback! If you are in a class that is practicing open learning….. EMBRACE it!! Soak up all the information you can and use it! You will be so glad for everything that was shared during open learning and you will soon come to realize the same thing! Kudos to Emily G. for encouraging open learning!!!

Stay tuned……

5 thoughts on “Learning in the Open!

  1. Hi Brenda! I am always willing to collaborate, bounce ideas off from, discuss plans, whatever you need. I would love to work closely to get the reassurance I’m on the right track as well.
    Amanda

    Like

  2. Hey Brenda! I was really intrigued by learning in the open and it seems like a great way for students to collaborate in an open forum style. I can definitely see the benefits of the idea and how it can be used as a “jump start” in times when someone is “stuck in their own heads” as you so effectively put. I am curious what limits are in place to discourage plagiarism between each other? Are there penalties or is it more that teachers have to have a level of trust with the students that it won’t be just one student doing all the work and the rest being “inspired” by them and get a bunch of the same project or work?

    Like

    1. Eben,
      Learning in he open is more like a collaboration with one another. For example when we were sharing our lesson plans in a forum we would borrow ideas for lessons from one another. As in real teacher lesson plans, teachers share ideas all the time.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Brenda!

    I never realized that this was an actual thing, and always felt bad and like it was cheating to go back and check on other classmates work. I think now it is a wonderful idea, it really gives you not only a feeling of knowing what you are doing, but also to see where others stand on certain matters. Some of my best work I feel has been when I checked with others in my classes, and was able to not only think things through with my perspective but with others as well. Now, being in my first year of teaching with my own classroom I find myself sharing CONSTANTLY. We share all of our plans, and our day to day journey in the classrooms.

    Best of luck!

    Gabby

    Like

Leave a comment