Getting There!

Well, I am entering week 8 of my last two classes on my journey to become a certified teacher. I had my first of two back to back observations today. It starts out so stressful and the lead up is insane but once I settle in and start the lesson I forget Emily (my FPF) is even in the room. Instinct just seems to kick in and I’m “in the zone”. I guess as students going for our certification these observations are great training because we will always have observations, whether formal or informal throughout our teaching career so it’s great practice.

Since I started this blog, (I must admit kicking and screaming and talking about how I didn’t think it was necessary) I must say it really has helped me. It gives me a place to unload, to get all the feelings out and hopefully at some point, to help others. I am so fortunate to work in a school that is so good to me. All the staff helps me in any way they can whether it is giving me advise, helping me find materials for my lesson plans or simply sharing their experiences with me, their help is vital! If I had one piece of advise (well I have wayyyyy more than one but…) for someone starting this journey, it would be to find a school you feel connected to. Beech Street feels like home to me. It’s the place I go to everyday that simply makes me smile! It doesn’t feel like work, it feels like being home with family.

Four more weeks of classes and then on to my final TCAP and finished by the end of March!!! It just proves anything is possible when you want it bad enough. Good luck to all this semester!

Talk soon!

3 thoughts on “Getting There!

  1. I like how you point out the stress of the observation. To this point in my GSC journey I have only been observed by my mentor and a video lesson sent to my FPF. This term will be the first time I will be physically observed by someone other than the school team. I am having the same experiences with my placement team. The staff at the school have been very supportive and helpful. I see this point of our educational journey as a time to build professional networks and gain knowledge from those who are “in the trenches” every day. This has been invaluable to me. I will add that by spending more than he required time in a school is going to be an asset to the future. We are required to attain about 450 hours or so for the program, I believe that if we have the opportunity to gain more time before we finish the program, it will only help us in the future and our careers.

    Like

    1. Yes, the more hours we can get the better and honestly, you get used to being observed. After about the first five minutes you forget the person is there and you just do what you do everyday. Good luck on the rest of your journey!!

      Like

  2. What a great post about observations and being “in the zone”! Being observed can be a very stressful thing for anyone, especially teacher candidates and new teachers. You are absolutely right that observations are great practice for teaching candidates. Observations are also a great tool to use for reflection and getting valuable feedback.
    Thank you for saying that your blog has helped you. I have just started my blog and admittedly am feeling that same “kicking and screaming” feeling you had!
    I can’t agree enough with you about finding a school that you feel connected to and welcomed in! This is my fifth year as a para-educator in an elementary school that I love! I am keeping my fingers crossed that when I finish my degree, there will be an open position at my school so I do not have to leave.

    Like

Leave a comment