Back to School Time….

Hello All,

As summer is coming to a close (on the academic calendar not the actual calendar), I spent the last two days doing Professional Development in my school. We are starting a new CKLA program (Amplify) and a relatively new Math program (Ready Math). The two days were very informative and I feel very excited and comfortable entering my second year of teaching.

I am also happy to say that a very close friend of mine has decided to change careers and go back to school to get her teaching certification. She applied to and was hired as a para professional in my school. She is currently enrolled in Granite State College and going through the PBTCP. I am so happy and excited for her and glad that I can pay it forward by helping her navigate our school and introduce her to all the great people at my school that helped me along the way. It really does help to have that professional network around you!!

I can’t stress to everyone enough that you are NEVER too old to change lanes, go back to school and go after your dreams. Quick background, I was 50 years old and left a job of 25 yearsI assumed I would eventually retire from at a ripe old age. It wasn’t my dream job (teaching was always my dream) but I made great money and so I settled. Long story short things happened, I left the job, went back to school and now I DO have my dream job!!

If there is one thing I would say to anyone that has found their way here whether it is for a class (Hello to Emily if you are in her class she is fabulous!!!) or just scrolling, NEVER give up on your dreams no matter how old you “think” you are or how set you are in your ways, go after what really makes you happy. I can honestly say there hasn’t been a day that has gone by that I am not excited to wake up and go to work. You know what they say, if you are happy with your work it doesn’t feel like work!!

Good luck with your classes, I will check in once school starts!

Leave a comment